IPC Nominations for Governing Board announced

IPC Headquarters, Bonn

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) announced on Monday 20 September the names of the candidates who will stand for election to the IPC Governing Board on Sunday 12 December at the IPC General Assembly in Taipei City, Chinese Taipei.

A total of 26 nominees have been approved by the IPC.  This is the start of campaigning for the 12 positions available within the IPC Governing Board.

There is one candidate for the position of IPC President: Andrew Parsons. There is also one candidate for the role of Vice President: Duane Kale. Twenty-five candidates have been nominated for Member at Large positions.

The IPC Governing Board will consist of one President, one Vice President and 10 Members at Large. They will  all be elected by the IPC membership which consists of National Paralympic Committees (NPC), International Sport Federations, International Organisations of Sport for the Disabled (IOSDs) and Regional Organisations.

The nominees for all roles, are listed below. The organisations in brackets nominated the person.

FOR IPC PRESIDENT (one to be elected)

Andrew Parsons (Brazil – NPC/ International Federation for Equestrian Sports (FEI)/ International Table Tennis Federation/ International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports Federation/ World Archery)

FOR IPC VICE PRESIDENT (one to be elected)

Duane Kale (New Zealand – NPC)

FOR MEMBER AT LARGE (ten persons to be elected)

Debra Alexander (South Africa – World Triathlon)

Mohamed Alhameli (UAE – NPC)

Jai-Jun Chung (Korea – NPC)

Leonel da Rocha Pinto (Angola – NPC)

Muffy Davis (USA – NPC)

Chelsey Gotell (Canada – NPC)

Khatab Hayat (Egypt – NPC)

Sabrina Ibanez (Switzerland – FEI)

Duane Kale (New Zealand – NPC)

Tanja Kari (Finland – NPC)

Miki Matheson (Japan – NPC)

Ming-Chu Mu (Chinese Taipei – NPC)

Luca Pancalli (Italy – NPC)

John Petersson (Denmark – NPC)

Juan Pablo Salazar (Colombia – NPC)

Karl Quade (Germany – NPC)

Majid Rashed (UAE – Asian Paralympic Committee)

Ehud Rassabi (Israel – NPC)

Tim Reddish (UK – NPC)

Imran Jamil Shami (Pakistan – NPC)

Gursharan Singh (India – NPC)

Robyn Smith (Australia – Virtus)

László Szabó (Hungary – NPC)

Esther Vergeer (Netherlands – NPC)

Jianmin Zhou (China – NPC)

On Friday 10 December each candidate will have the opportunity to make a presentation on why they should be elected to the IPC membership attending the IPC General Assembly in Taipei City.

All nominee applications have been reviewed by the IPC Credentials Commission.  The Commission has confirmed that the IPC rules have been followed and candidates can be considered by the membership. The IPC Credentials Commission members are:

Mark Copeland, Chairperson (New Zealand)

Linda Mastandrea, member (USA)

Louis Muncey, member (UK)